RSS Feed

The Lamp: Happily Ever After

Posted on

Thanks to Laura Johnson for sharing this very special Lamp memory! If you have one to share with us, email us at relightthelamp@gmail.com.

Betty and Theodore Kretchek met at the Lamp Theatre and were married for 64 years.

I always enjoyed going to the Lamp Theater as a child, but the lamp theater has an extra special meaning to my family. When we heard about the Lamp possibly being restored, it surely brought back a lot of fond memories for my mother.
 
My mother, Betty Kretchek, who will be 85 years old, worked as a ticket taker at the lamp when she was just 15 years old. She explained to me there was a “ticket booth” out front. She was very excited since it was her first job. While working there she met a serviceman who who would regularly come to the shows. He eventually asked her out on a date. They only dated 3 weeks until he got the call to go into the service (World War II). They kept in touch by letter throughout the next several years and upon his return they married.
 
My parents, Theodore and Betty Kretchek, were married for 64 years.  Sadly, my father passed away on April 22, 2009. Everytime I drive by the Lamp with my mother, she looks at it and smiles, remembering how she met my father.
About Kathleen

Kathleen Heuer is a serial arts advocate and volunteer. She is the mom of two beautiful girls, wife to a brilliant nuclear engineer, and referee between her golden retriever and her hissy 18-year-old cat. For more, go to http://about.me/kathleendheuer.

5 responses »

  1. Several People have asked me, in what church this photo was taken. Anybody know?

    Reply
  2. From Laura:
    “My parents were married in St. John’s Church in Larimer. Another interesting fact is that my Dad became the manager and vice president of the bank adjacent to the Lamp for 30 years. Irwin has been great to my parents!!!”

    Reply
  3. Laura, your mom and dad are my Aunt Betty and Uncle ‘Juny’. I remember when Aunt Betty was pregnant with you and Louise. If I remember right you both weighed around 8 pounds. Your mom had a tough timer carrying you around. My mother was Ted’s sister. Sadly both she and my father have passed on..

    Phil Shearer

    Reply
    • Phil ~
      How nice to hear from you. My Mom did have a pretty hard time carrying us! I asked her our weights. She said I was 5 lb 13 oz. and Louise was 7 lbs. 4 oz. That’s alot of baby to carry around!

      It is sad, the family is getting smaller and smaller. It was nice to hear from you and I do hope that the Lamp gets to reopen.

      Take care.

      Laura 🙂

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Chinese auction fundraiser « Relight the Lamp

Leave a Reply

